Gettin’ Better

19 Dec

Tomorrow, Matt ad I are flying to Pittsburgh to stay with my family for the weekend! I’m pretty excited, its been over 4 months since I last saw my family and then I was only home for like 48 hours! I’m going back to RAW for a drop in then some tweeters have been suggesting to me to check out other boxes too….but I really LOVE RAW…so we’ll see!

My pull-ups are getting better everyday! This morning’s WOD was:
4 rounds
10 ground to overhead (115/75)
then 3 rounds of Cindy (5 pullups, 10 puch-ups, 15 air squats)

I used the smallest band we have (purple!) and was able to kip! It’s a great feeling, I know I’m still scaling it, but I at least don’t end up in tears when my arms give out and I’m the last one on the bar! (like last week….)
Seriously…in one week I went from crying with a thicker band to flying with a smaller band thanks to the wonderful invention…kipping!

CollageOy the pain…this is what I do in my office after days of pull-ups and upper body work!

20121218_173407Matt and I got matching wrist wraps! (Like the company name Dan??)

They’re easy to put on and take off and were only $12! They really make my wrists feel secure and I feel I’ll be able to do overhead work with out that nagging wrist pain.

Has anyone every tried oil cleansing for their face? I wash my face with coconut oil every night. Sounds awful, right? Smells great and makes my face soft 🙂 So far, no breakouts and any acne scarring I had is fading…so far so good! Been doing it for about 2 weeks now!

Lastly, this was super interesting. It’s true, we do a lot of movements that are probably not good for us…and we do them a lot. Biggest fear would be the box jump one…ick. Of course, my only injury to date with a box jump has been a (broken?) jammed finger joint, that still hasn’t healed! (and actually was made worse thanks to volleyball Monday night!) Oh well, going to doctors takes time and then they restrict you.

 

5 Responses to “Gettin’ Better”

  1. ~jenniferlynn December 19, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Awesome job on the pull-ups!!!

    I heard about coconut oil for your face but I’m scared lol. Is it just straight up coconut oil like what you cook with?

    • kfb2beastmode December 19, 2012 at 2:54 pm #

      haha yep! Every night, I walk into the kitchen, scoop a little chunk of oil, take it into the bathroom and rub it on my face! then with a hot wash cloth wipe it off! I was nervous at first, but it is def a good makeup remover too!

      • ~jenniferlynn December 19, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

        I’m totally trying this! I had bought a moisturizer with coconut oil in it; but this sounds like it is great for cleansing/moisturizing at once!

  2. grizzlystrong December 19, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Awesome wrist wraps! I went with the Rogue ones because I’m a brand whore…

    You probably already know this but Juli via PaleOMG has talked about oil cleansing several times

    Got your card yesterday! Thanks so much – you’re way more thoughtful than me 😦

    • kfb2beastmode December 19, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      I used to be a brand whore…now I’m just cheap!
      I saw it first from her! Then after a few other people wrote about it, I decided to try
      Haha, you’re welcome! Sorry it didnt come with paleo deliciousness 😦

Leave a Reply

Keep Going

Perseverance is the key to success...

burpeesboxjumpsandbeer

food, fitness, and my (somewhat) healthy & entertaining life

Grizzly Strong

Crossfit, Paleo, Music and Beards

Journey of a Dreamer

Perseverance is the key to success...

Badass Fitness

Perseverance is the key to success...

Perseverance is the key to success...

