How I Prepare for a Competition

7 Dec

(emphasis on the “I”) What I say here might not be what works for you, but so far this seems to make me (feel?) most ready!

Tomorrow is my first individual CrossFit competition in the Christmas Throwdown at North Haven CrossFit in Connecticut. I’m excited! (and already looking into other competitions!)

FOOD- probably the most important thing

I just got off the my paleo challenge before Thanksgiving….I spent a few days devouring sugar and sweets and anything I wanted (Cool Whip?) Then, got myself back on track and have been pretty clean for a week and a half.  Now, today is the day before competition and me and my trusty Nalgene have become quite attached! (HYDRATE!)20121207_130833

**What I found out at my first competition is if you have NO IDEA what the next WOD is, you psych yourself out of hunger and end up munching cautiously on tiny portions just to keep going. BUT this time I know the WODs, but I still plan to keep all snacking light so I don’t vomit 🙂

Food to pack:
-I made Larabar-style protein balls for this comp because last time I was eating only a half a bar at a time!
-cooked and refrigerated meats (steak or chicken)
-nut butters
-bananas, baby oranges (more commonly know as clementines?)
-I’m sure there will be veggies packed!
-Matt’s protein powder and shaker

Body-
Wednesday was my last day of training! I wanted to do mobility and stretching yesterday and today, but time just didn’t allow it! Taking time off was still good, my back is feeling better and I got to sleep in instead of waking up at 4:30am for morning class!

My fantastically awesome HS friend Katrina and her husband are allowing Matt and I to sleep over at their apartment which is only 40 minutes away from the competition site! (We live 2? or more hours away!)

Also….now this is extremely important….I painted my nails PURPLE! And worked on filing some callouses (I don’t even feel bad discussing my calloused hands with you people…in CrossFit world, its normal!)

20121207_130916

Last- pack EVERYTHING! 2 pairs of shoes, every kind of bottoms you might want (capris, spandex shorts, leggings…you just don’t know!!!) Multiple shirts in case you’re a sweaty beast, in a variety of styles (tanks, fitted ones in case you have to go upsidedown, t-shirts, hoodies to keep you warm!)

Your OWN jump rope, a foam roller, a lacrosse ball, any mobility gear y0u have and typically use.

For real last, delicious goodies for the ride home after! (gingerbread oreos were our choice!)

How do you prepare for competitions??

Have a great weekend everyone! Follow me on twitter for updates about me and the other 5 athletes competing from my box!

2 Responses to “How I Prepare for a Competition”

  1. ~jenniferlynn December 8, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Good luck, girlie!!! Sounds terrifying! 😉
    Gingerbread oreos..??

    • kfb2beastmode December 9, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      Yessss! Gingerbread Oreos are my secret cheat snack this Christmas haha

Leave a Reply

Keep Going

Perseverance is the key to success...

burpeesboxjumpsandbeer

food, fitness, and my (somewhat) healthy & entertaining life

Grizzly Strong

Crossfit, Paleo, Music and Beards

Journey of a Dreamer

Perseverance is the key to success...

Badass Fitness

Perseverance is the key to success...

Perseverance is the key to success...

