Why, Hello Again….

4 Dec

Hey social media! I’ve been gone for a good 3 days..with the exception of a few tweets…including this:

untitled

They were fantastic. Like omg thats a real cookie I think? Oh wait…it’s paleo. but it tastes so good?!!

Want to know where I made those cookies? I made them in my new apartment!

20121203_182732I ❤ this kitchen…and the dishwasher

20121202_173856If you look closely, you can see my Charlie Brown Tree on the table…then the real tree in the back!

20121203_182750

Saturday, BF and I moved in together! Of course, Saturday was the first and only day it has snowed…like over an inch. It was cold. and wet.

20121201_072900

Karli’s Guide to a Successul Move:
Step 1: Join a CrossFit Box
Step 2: Get strong while making friends with other strong people
Step 3: Announce you are moving and ask for help

Seriously, these guys amazed me. We had 6 CrossFitters ready to help, only 2 were needed! Boxes I thought would be near impossible to lift, these guys just squatted down and lifted up and carried down the steps like its no big deal! (So lucky to have such fantastic people in my life! <3)

Now, some lifting talk. This is a slight ramble, but try to stay with me! I have been struggling with my deadlifts for…ever? I can successfully lift 275# off the ground…unfortunately, I am the hunchback of notre dame. This hunchback starts at low weights too…like 165# and up! What I don’t understand is, when I stand normally, I have a fantastic lumbar curve (a slight case of lordosis) it causes pain sometimes unless I focus on keeping my core tight….but if I have this lumbar curve normally, why do I lose it when I’m lifting and TRYING to have it! Its very painful on my back to deadlift hunchbacked! Monday, I tried lifting with with a belt…lo and behold I got to 270# before I started to hunch! Then I did sets at 240# WITH NO PAIN! Hallelujah! I need a women’s belt because men’s belts cut into my hips…but at least I know it will help. Now, the real question….will wearing the belt hurt me in the long run? OR will wearing it allow me to get stronger while using correct form and prevent injuries in the future?

beltThis is Harbinger’s Women’s belt…its thinner and is made to fit curves, unlike a mens belt. I will be buying this…eventually. I’ve heard good things about it, I wish I could find the blog that I read reviews on…hm. If you read this and did a post on men’s vs. women’s belts let me know! I want to follow you!

P.S. I can’t decide if I’m excited about my competition or not. If I don’t come in first (yes, first place is truly my goal), I will be disappointed. If I do come in first, I wont even brag about it because I will be doing a workout thats scaled below anythign I did my first month in CrossFit! I’m sure I will still get exhausted by these…but I just can’t imagine doing an 18″ box jump when 24″ is my normal…I like being challenged and I won’t be satisfied either way 😦

Oh well, I guess its experience, and next time I’ll K some A!

6 Responses to “Why, Hello Again….”

  1. grizzlystrong December 4, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    Belts are a funny thing…I really like the stance that the Barbell Shrugged guys take – http://fitr.tv/blogs/the-daily-bs/6946046-should-i-use-straps-wraps-and-belts-the-daily-bs-7

    http://fitr.tv/blogs/barbell-shrugged/6296602-supplements-belts-straps-opening-a-crossfit-gym-justin-metts-episode-18

    Skip to 43:17 for belts, straps, sleeve talk

    • kfb2beastmode December 4, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      as usual, you come through with good info! Thanks!!!

  2. ~jenniferlynn December 4, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Pretty sure Sarah @runwriteconquer did one! And.. I’ll be doing a review and perhaps a giveaway next week of the pretty pink belt…!! 🙂

    • kfb2beastmode December 4, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      YES! Thats exactly the one I saw! Thank you! woo I will have to check that out!

  3. Belle December 4, 2012 at 6:17 pm #

    Congrats on the move! How exciting 🙂 I’ve thought about getting a belt, but I some how convinced myself that need to get abs popping out of the top like Iceland Annie before getting one haha! And yes, all about the experience on your competition – you’ll do great and have fun!

    • kfb2beastmode December 5, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

      haha, I’m hoping the belt will help with all over muscle building, then I can get those abs!!! and thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Keep Going

Perseverance is the key to success...

burpeesboxjumpsandbeer

food, fitness, and my (somewhat) healthy & entertaining life

Grizzly Strong

Crossfit, Paleo, Music and Beards

Journey of a Dreamer

Perseverance is the key to success...

Badass Fitness

Perseverance is the key to success...

Perseverance is the key to success...

