Weekend Workout Recap

13 Nov

You know what one of the greatest perks to dating my boyfriend is? Keys and access to our box. (that last statement is a complete lie, he is super fantastic in a billion other ways, like scratching my head when I can’t sleep….but having keys is in the top 20)

This weekend, even though we were away on Friday, too exhausted to wake up early Saturday, and the box is close Sunday, we still got our workouts in. Ok, so maybe Friday’s workout was a 12 hour AMRAP of walking city blocks….I think we got a bajillion…new PR right there, folks. Saturday, we got to the box around noon and spent a good 45 minutes stretching and working on hip and shoulder mobility. Then spent 15 minutes warming up to our 75% (ish) of 1-rep max power clean and push press.

WOD #1: 3x3x3x3x3 of power clean first, then push press, resting as needed between sets. (I did 105#)

WOD #2: 18 min AMRAP, 5 hang cleans, 10 front squats, 15 push presses (I did 65#, I wanted to do 75#, but I just didn’t have the energy to control the bar during push presses) I fell push press short of 6 rounds 😦

These 2 kicked our butt. Literally. My butt was so sore and steps hurt.

Sunday morning came and I started whining. Which led to cutting our original plan to do “Jeremy” (run 1 mile, row 2k, run 1 mile) down to just run 2 miles for time. My goal was to keep my old 1mi pace of 8:30….and I did. Matt ran it in about 3 seconds, then had bacon, eggs and coffee ready by the time I got back. (That’s also a lie, he makes fantastic breakfast, but it takes him around 3 hours…I think he must hand pick the eggs and slaughter the pigs himself?)

This week I hope to be back at it harder than last week! Guess what?! IT’S THE LAST WEEK OF THE PALEO CHALLENGE!!!!! Hecka yes. I have plans to adjust my diet a bit starting next week, still paleo based, but definitely want to incorporate some other foods that I like and are healthy!

Look at that! I WANT!!!! If anyone knows how I can get my own pink weights…please let me know 🙂

8 Responses to “Weekend Workout Recap”

  1. ~jenniferlynn November 13, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    LOVE those pink weights! I jokingly asked my boyfriend if we can get some one day and he scoffed at me. I’m like hey, just cause I can lift heavy doesn’t mean I don’t love pink! 😉

    You ran two miles in 8:30?!

    • kfb2beastmode November 13, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      Bahahahahaah….no, I should probably re-word that. I ran 1 mile in 8:30! I like to keep my pace under 9 when I run! And heck yes…I tell my bf the same thing!!!!

      • ~jenniferlynn November 13, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

        Hahah.. okay, thought you were super woman 😉 Awesome time anyway!! 🙂

    • grizzlystrong November 13, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      Wow 2 miles in 8:30?? That’s insanely impressive.

      I googled every version of “pink bumper plate” and found nothing…regrets

      • kfb2beastmode November 13, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

        no no no people…2 miles in 17 min, 8:30 min/miles….I’m slow! I hate running!!!

        I appreciate the effort! 🙂 I’m think spray paint?

      • grizzlystrong November 13, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

        Ahh sorry!! I was very impressed! +1 Running sucks.

        This site (https://www.specializedweb.com/products/bumper-plates.html) says “Custom colors available” ?? Success?

      • kfb2beastmode November 13, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

        YES! I think that would work….now I just need to hit the lottery. Though, a set for me wouldn’t be THAT expensive. You rock!

  2. Melissa Love November 13, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

    haha I love that you think you’re slow – I’d KILL to break a 10:20 mile let alone a 8:30 =P

    And I LOVE the pink weights!! I need to come play at your box if you get those 🙂

Leave a Reply

Keep Going

Perseverance is the key to success...

burpeesboxjumpsandbeer

food, fitness, and my (somewhat) healthy & entertaining life

Grizzly Strong

Crossfit, Paleo, Music and Beards

Journey of a Dreamer

Perseverance is the key to success...

Badass Fitness

Perseverance is the key to success...

Perseverance is the key to success...

